Two Wrongs Don’t Make a Right

Two wrongs don’t make a right. 他人の悪事を引き合いに出して自分の悪事の言い訳をすることはできない。

I hardly ever log into the gmail account I use for YouTube, so I just today saw that someone replied to a comment I’d made a year ago, a comment saying that GACKT’s reading of Sasazuka Elise’s lines was stereotypical and a disappointment. The person replied that stereotypical portrayals of Japanese are “common” in Western media but “you’re not disappointed about that are you?”

I already replied to that person with a few points (namely that those portrayals are not nearly as common as they used to be and that I never said I was okay with those portrayals in the first place), but the one I most hope sticks in this person’s mind and the one I want to shout out just to remind people of it because it’s a logical fallacy I see far too often is “two wrongs don’t make a right.”

Say it with me now!

TWO WRONGS DON’T MAKE A RIGHT

TWO WRONGS DON’T MAKE A RIGHT

THREE LEFTS MAKE A RIGHT BUT TWO WRONGS DON’T AND IN ANY CASE YOU STILL WOULDN’T BE ON THE PARTICULAR STREET YOU WANTED TO BE ON

No, seriously. If I murder someone, then you murder someone, it’s still wrong. We’re both wrong.

If I’m an asshole, and you’re an asshole, our mutual assholery does not forgive the assholery of either party.

“If you get offended by everything, it’ll never end you know!”

“If you let everything slide, you’ll keep on getting treated like shit, you know!”

Ugh.

I’m gonna go like read a romance novel now or something. Something with a more coherent argument than the bullshit I just read. I hear Lord Monteith is a very handsome man.

Share your thoughts here! ^_^/☆

