A Nod to the Goo Goo Dolls? -UPDATED-

So much for the hiatus eh? ^_^;

As I was taking a stroll down memory lane watching the video to the Goo Goo Dolls’ 1995 hit “Name,” I couldn’t help but feel that I’d seen that bus station somewhere before.

iTunes will tell everyone the song's name.

Replace good ol’ Johnny Rzeznik there with GACKT, and what have you got?  The video to the latter’s 2000 song “Secret Garden.”

Same place? Only the flooring and cushioning on the chairs seems different.

Maybe this is old hat and it’s widely known, but it was a surprise to me.  I tried Googling about it and the only thing that came up was someone’s Sims in-game GACKT, who someone else said reminded them of the lead singer of the Goo Goo Dolls.

If I remember correctly, “Secret Garden” was filmed somewhere in the States, so it’s possible that it’s the same bus depot as was used in the Goo Goo Dolls’ song.  Maybe it’s even a famous station and I just don’t know it.  Anyway, if it were just that it wouldn’t have made much of an impression on me, but the whole vid itself is very similar to that for “Name.”  Well, except for the fact that all of the characters that appear in “Name” are portrayed sympathetically, unlike some of the stereotypical portrayals in “Secret Garden.” (^_^;;;)

UPDATE (February 21, 2011): When a friend of mine from L.A. saw the video to “Secret Garden,” she was like, “Ohmygod! Is that Union Station?!”

So it would seem this is Union Station in Los Angeles, California.  Here’s a picture of its waiting room from the station’s Wikipedia article:

This has gotta be it!

Also, I found this article from the LA Times that says that “Name” was filmed in various L.A. locales, and now that I’ve got my copy of GACKT’s Greatest Filmography RED with me, I’ve confirmed that “Secret Garden” was shot in L.A.

Mystery solved! *Victory Fanfare*

Well, I’ll go ahead and put the two vids here.  And with this, I go back to studying!

2 thoughts on “A Nod to the Goo Goo Dolls? -UPDATED-

    • Hello Azu! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Well, I’m pretty sure that GACKT’s video was shot in Los Angeles, though I could be wrong on that. I’m not sure where “Name” was shot. One of the buildings looks like a building in Detroit, but none of the others do so I don’t think it was there. I was thinking maybe Grand Central Station in New York had a bus depot, but Googling for that didn’t get me any interior shots.

      It’s still a mystery to me…

Share your thoughts here! ^_^/☆

