Sephiroth, Alucard, and Gackt’s Identity Crisis

Happy New Year, O World! May 2009 treat you better than 2008!

First Post of the New Year has got to be good, right? Enjoy this silly comic strip that I made!

id-crisis2

\ ^0^ /

Ah, I crack myself up!

I suppose I should explain my somewhat convoluted bad joke, just in case anyone didn’t get it.

The newest (far as I know) Castlevania game (Castlevania: Judgement for the Wii) features an Alucard that looks remarkably like Sephiroth. It’s not too bad in Takeshi Obata’s (!!) illustration, but in-game…see for yourself!

So that explains the first two dudes. The third guy is Gackt. In case you don’t know, Gackt is a Japanese rock star, among other things. When he was in the band Malice Mizer, they had a song called “月下の夜想曲” (gekka no yasoukyoku), which was also the Japanese title of Castlevania: Symphony of the Night. Then when Gackt went solo, in the video for his song “Mizérable” he looked like he was cosplaying Alucard. Years later, the cover of his album Diabolos really couldn’t be more explicitly Sephiroth fanart. When I saw the Sephiroth-like Alucard, I thought, “Oh, no, what’s Gackt to do now?!?” But he’s currently revisiting his Rebirth era Nazi Frankenstein-Android character, so no worries for him. Thus, my silly joke.

If nothing else it was a pretty picture, no? ^_^

I do wonder why they chose to make Alucard a platinum blond considering how gorgeous he looks with dark hair. Genya Arikado, anyone? I also wonder why Ayami Kojima hasn’t been the illustrator for the past several Castlevania releases. Is she tired of drawing beautiful men surrounded by rotting corpses and all manner of demonic beasties? Come to think of it, it’s only been the games released on Nintendo systems that don’t have her art. Maybe Nintendo thinks she’s too explicit for their systems? No, wait, Kojima did illustrate Aria of Sorrow, which is why it was so strange to me that she didn’t do Dawn of Sorrow.

Hm…


5 thoughts on “Sephiroth, Alucard, and Gackt’s Identity Crisis

  1. Pingback: OMG Tetris?! and Other Emacs Fun « Scales of Libra

  2. Oh, wow! You’re such an amazing fanartist? Do you have a DeviantArt account? If not, you should totally post your work there. 🙂

    Also, kudos for knowing who Gackt is. 😉

  3. Thanks for the compliments!

    These days I do fanart once in a blue moon, and otherwise my work is either too large, too charcoal-y, or too…how shall we say…full of naked people to post online. =^_^=

    Come to think of it, it’s fitting for me to do Gackt fanart, since I first heard of him on a mailing list I’m on called Anime Fanartists Online. Actually, when I first wrote my reply, I had the chronology of my fandom wrong. But since that mailing list is still around I went and checked the messages; turns out I’ve been a fan since mid-2002, not late 2003 like I’d been thinking; 2003 was just when I started buying Gackt’s albums through CD Japan. (I remember that because the catalog they included in my order had the movie “8 Mile” on the cover and the coincidence had me cracking up!) I’d also been thinking for all these years that the same girl who started the ruckus on the list because Gackt had answered her fanmail was the one who later sent me a link to some pre-YouTube era site with tracks of his on the internet, but it turned it it was two different people! My memory was also wrong in that I thought I had (nobly) heard his music before seeing what he looked like, when it was the other way around.

    So the accurate story of how I became a Gackt fan is: 1. A girl on AFO sends a message to the group about how Gackt answered her fanmail. 2. Intrigued by the number of “OMGs” and emoticons this inspired, as well as wondering why a Japanese man had three consecutive consonants in his name, I Googled–er, Alta Vistaed him and saw how gorgeous he was. Is. 3. I emailed the group asking for a site where I could hear his music. 4. Another girl emails me (apparently privately) with a link to a Chinese site that had some tracks, including the hypnotic “Saikai~Story~” 5. Went back to look in awe at more photos of Gackt. 6. Been a huge fan ever since!

    Heh, I know you didn’t ask all that, sorry! But I find it amusing how I had so many details wrong in my memory.

    *End of gushy fangirl moment*

  4. I’m not a huge Gackt fan, though I do check out YouTube vids of his from time to time. I think the first time I heard of him was either in an online anime fan community or in Shojo Beat… even when I don’t really care for his music, his personal style and persona in general are just uber captivating. So, I can dig the gushy fangirlness. 😉

Share your thoughts here! ^_^/☆

